skip navigation

Rules Clarification!

By USAV Officials, 03/05/24, 11:30AM CST


Claification of simultanious contact rules.....

The USAV Rules Commission met last week and wants to clarify the rule change regarding 14.3 Blocking in the Opponents Space: In blocking, the player may place his/her hands and arms beyond the net, provided that this action does not interfere with the opponent’s play. Thus, it is not permitted to touch the ball beyond the net before an opponent has executed an attack hit.

The Rules Commission has issued some clarification regarding simultaneous contact. Please reference this link to access the new Rules Interpretation. Scroll to Indoor Casebook, Indoor Critical Rules, Points of Emphasis, and Rules Interpretations. Select 2023-24 Rules Interpretation 2 – February 2024. This will clarify some confusion regarding simultaneous contact. This is being implemented immediately, if you are working this weekend and have not been interpreting simultaneous contact with continued play, please do so now. The advantage of this rules interpretation is the allowance of continued play and spectacular rallies.

Please distribute this to your clubs, coaches, and referees this will clarify any question people will have. We will be distributing this to all our National, Junior National, Zonal Beach and Indoor Referees in the next two days.

If you have any questions, please let us know at